NEW YORK UNIVERSITYARTS AND SCIENCECOLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCEGRADUATE SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCE
Classics_title.jpg

Events

UPCOMING EVENTS

Noel Lenski (Yale)
Thursday, April 7, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "A Brief History of Byzantine Slavery – 330 – 1453 CE"

Gianfranco Agosti (La Sapienza)
Thursday, April 21, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "'Everyday poetry' in Greek Late Antiquity. Verse inscriptions and classical paideia"

Center for Ancient Studies Conference: Classics and Cognitive Theory
Thursday-Friday October 27th and 28th, 2016
For more information see here

PAST EVENTS

Jonathan Prag (Merton College, University of Oxford)
Monday, March 7, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Fighting for Rome in the Hellenistic Mediterranean: foreign soldiers in the service of the Roman Republic"

Judith Mossman (Nottingham)

Thursday, February 25, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Male Speech in Euripides' Trojan Women"

Joseph Howley (Columbia)
Thursday, February 4, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Long Table's journey into Nights: the Classical paratext and the post-Classical edition"

Andrew Ford (Princeton)
Thursday, December 3, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Greek Lyric Genres: Reflections on recent theory”

Graduate Student Conference: Mirabile Dictu: Experiencing the Wondrous in the Ancient World
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Keynote Speaker: Christopher Faraone, University of Chicago
Jurow Lecture Hall, Silver Center for Arts and Science
Click here for more information.

Peter Agocs (University College London)
Thursday, November 12, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "The hyporchema and ancient genre theory"

Christina Kraus (Yale)
Thursday, November 5, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Agricolan paratexts"

Laura Viidebaum (NYU)
Wednesday, September 30, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Lysias in Rome"

Deborah Steiner (Columbia)
Thursday, October 8, 4:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Fabricating the chorus: weaving, textile-production and choral performances in the early Greek visual and poetic repertoire"

Anne-Isabelle Bouton-Touboulic (Lille/NYU)
Monday, May 4, 2015, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Body Language in Augustine"

Ian Moyer (Michigan) 
Monday, April 27, 2015, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "At the Gates of the Temple: Culture, Politics and Place in Ptolemaic Egypt"

Christian Wildberg (Princeton)
Monday, April 20, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: Making Sense of the Corpus Hermeticum: Text – Context – Reception

Jake Mackey (CUNY)
Thursday, April 16, 2015, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “Children’s Imitation as Social and Cultural Cognition in Roman Thought”

Ben Sammons (NYU)
Monday April 6, 2015, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “The Space of the Champion in Early Greek Epic”

Bert van der Spek (Amsterdam)
Wednesday, April 1, 2015, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “Land grants of Antiochus II to his wife Laodice in Babylonia and Asia Minor: on the 'Lehmann text' in the MMA”

Michael Koortbojian (Princeton)
Monday, March 23, 2015, 4:45 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “The Sacrificial Ritus”

Claude Calame (Lausanne/École des hautes études en sciences sociales)
Thursday, March 5, 2015, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “From cultural memory to poetic memory: myth, history and ritual beyond the "Great Divide" in classical Greece”

Thomas Schmitz (Bonn/Stanford)
Monday, February 23, 4:45 pm, 2015, Silver Center 503
Title: “Pyrenaean Mountains and Deep-Valleyed Alps. Geography and Empire in the Garland of Philip”

Lilah Grace Canevaro (Edinburgh)
Thursday, February 19, 2015, 12:30 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Homeric Women and the Politics of Objects"

Rob Cioffi (Bard)
Monday, February 2, 2015, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “The end of exoticism in Heliodorus' Aithiopika

Stefano Rebeggiani (NYU)
Monday, December 1, 2014, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Sometimes they come back: Nero, Domitian and the Thebaid of Statius"

Andrew Zissos (UC Irvine)
Monday, November 24, 2014, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Generic Attire: Hypsipyle’s Cloaks in Valerius Flaccus and Apollonius Rhodius"

Brent Shaw (Princeton University)
November 20th, 2014, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "The End of Sacrifice"

Alessandro Schiesaro (La Sapienza)
Thursday, November 13th, 2014, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Virgil, Empedocles and the Cosmic Storm"

Denise Eileen McCoskey (Miami University)
Monday, October 27, 2014, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "The Case for Using 'Race' in Classical Studies (Twenty-Five Years after Black Athena)"

David M. Pritchard (University of Queensland)
Monday, October 20th, 2014, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “Public Spending and Democracy in Classical Athens”

Irad Malkin (Tel Aviv University)
Monday, October 6, 2014, 6:15 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “Mobility, migration, and the emergence of the polis: critical approaches to Greek Colonization”

Dan-El Padilla Peralta (Columbia University)
Monday, September 15, 2014, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Divine Institutions: Religion and State Formation in Mid-Republican Rome"




The time and location of events are subject to change; to receive up-to-date information, please join our mailing list by contacting nyuclassicsgrad@gmail.com.