NEW YORK UNIVERSITYARTS AND SCIENCECOLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCEGRADUATE SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCE
Classics_title.jpg

Events

UPCOMING EVENTS

Nigel Nicholson (Reed College)

Thursday, May 8, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503

Title: "Epinician vs. Oral Tradition in the Greek West"

François Lissarrague (L'École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris)
Tuesday, May 13, 6:00pm, Silver Center 503
Title: “Body and Armor: the aesthetics of heroic warriors in Attic vase painting”


PAST EVENTS

Andrew Riggsby (The University of Texas at Austin)
Friday, October 4, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Romans, Tables, and 'Progress'"

Alicia Jiménez (Brown University)
Thursday, October 24, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "What is a province? Hispania as a case study"

Claire Coiro Bubb (Harvard University)
Tuesday, October 29, 12:30 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Monkey Business in Rome: Acquiring the Animals for Galen's Anatomical Dissections"

Graduate Student Conference: The Same Old Lies: Frauds, Falsehoods, and Forgeries in the Ancient World
Saturday, November 16
Keynote Speaker: James O'Hara, University of North Carolina
Jurow Lecture Hall, Silver Center for Arts and Science
Click here for more information.

Ian Rutherford (University of Reading)
Thursday, December 5, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Pindar on the Sources of the Nile"

Sitta von Reden (University of Freiburg)

Thursday, February 6, 5:00 pm, Silver Center 503

Title: "The Ancient Economy in World History (1000 BCE to 500 CE)"

Conference: Animals in Antiquity
Thursday, February 13- Friday, February 14
Hemmerdinger Hall, Silver Center for Arts and Science
Click here for more information.

Fiona Kidd (Metropolitan Museum of Art)

Tuesday, March 4, 12:30pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "The Connected Oasis: Ancient Chorasmia between the Near East and the Eurasian Steppe"

Katharina Volk (Columbia University)

Thursday, March 6, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503

Title: “Signs, Seers, and Senators: Cicero and Nigidius Figulus on Divination”

Marco Maiuro (Columbia University)

Tuesday, March 25, 12:30pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Shooting Guns on Roman Cities: New Perspectives on Urbanization Rate, Urban Networks and Demography in the Long Run"

Hilmar Klinkott (Heidelberg)
Wednesday, March 26, 5:00pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "'... et Caesarem reginam salutavit.' The Importance of Egypt for Caesar's Foreign Policy"

Barbara Graziosi (Durham University)

Thursday, March 27, 5:00pm, Jurow Lecture Hall, Silver Center for Arts and Science

Title: “The Gods of Olympus: Travel and Transformation”

Sponsored by the NYU Center for Ancient Studies, Department of Classics, and the Dean for the Humanities

Michael Speidel (Bern)
Tuesday, April 1, 12:30pm, Silver Center 503
Title: "Power, Profit, and Politics- Rome's 'Friends' in India and South Arabia"

T. Corey Brennan (Rutgers University)

Thursday, April 3, 6:00 pm, Silver Center 503

Title: “Sabina, the Restless Empress”




The time and location of events are subject to change; to receive up-to-date information, please join our mailing list by contacting nyuclassicsgrad@gmail.com.