Prizes in Classics

College Prizes

The Alvin H. Zagor Memorial Prize is given to a junior or senior in CAS who demonstrates wide ranging interests and concern for the necessity of the humane studies in the intellectual development of the modern professional.

Deans Undergraduate Research Fund Grant (DURF)

Ranieri Travel Grants


Classics Departmental Prizes

The Josiah Marshall Favill Prize is awarded each year to the student who writes the best examination in translation of Latin and/or Greek. Exams are administered in February of each year.

The Bluma L. Trell Prize is awarded each year to a graduating senior who has made outstanding contributions in the field of Classics.

The Lionel Casson Prize is awarded each year to the outstanding Classics major in the graduating class of the College of Arts and Sciences.


External Scholarships and Fellowships

American Philological Association Minority Scholarships

American Philological Association Lionel Pearson Fellowship


 Update your faculty profile